Freestyle skiing was recognised as a discipline in 1979 by the International Ski Federation (FIS) and brought in new regulations regarding certification of athletes and jump techniques in an effort to curb some of the dangerous elements of the competitions.

The first FIS World Cup series was accomplished in 1980 and the first FIS World Championships took place in 1986 in Tignes, France, featuring moguls, aerials and ballet.

Mogul skiing was included to the official programme of the Albertville Games in 1992 and Aerials were added at the Lillehammer Games in 1994.

Freestyle Events

Moguls: This competition involves a run down a heavily moguled course with two jumps. The Olympic format consists in a one-run elimination round followed by a one-run final of 16 20 women and 16 20 men. In the finals, participants ski in reverse order of their finish in the qualification round. The winner is the skier with the highest score in the final round.

Aerials: This competition involve of a two-jump qualification followed by a two-jump final. The combined scores from the two jumps in the qualification round decide who qualifies for the finals, with 12 men and 12 women advancing to the finals.

    List of events

  • aerials Men
  • moguls Men
  • aerials Women
  • moguls Women